Wednesday, October 29, 2008

What is "Babylon 5?"

Babylon 5 is a science fiction show that ran 5 seasons from 1994-1998. The continuity and realism of the show, as well as the use of cutting-edge technology, contributed to its success. The pilot, The Gathering, was aired in February 1993 before the first season began in January of 1994. J. Michael Straczynski, the creator, wanted the show to follow like a novel over a 5-year arc. His story was based on the Babylon station based in outer space near the planet Epsilon 3, and was intended to act as a base for diplomacy and commerce between the many galactic races, including Minbari, Narn, Centauri, Vorlons, and Drazi, to name a few. It was named Babylon 5 after the first 4 stations failed: Babylon stations 1, 2, and 3 were sabotaged and destroyed before completion, and Babylon 4 disappeared. B5 was the first successful station. It was meant to help foster peace, but later became the base for the Earth civil war and later for the Shadow War between the First Ones, the Shadows and the Vorlons, thus ushering in the Third Age of Mankind.


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home